Chris Halpin Award

Each year CAASLAR presents the Chris Halpin Distinguished Service award to an individual whose past efforts within our profession exemplifies the spirit and dedication of Chris Halpin.

Who was Chris Halpin?

Chris Halpin was employed by the State of Colorado from 1976 to September of 1992. She had been the manager of the student debt management division at CU-Boulder for 11 years prior to her untimely death in 1992.

In the Fall of 1992, CAASLAR established an organizational award in honor of Chris who in addition to being an active member of COHEAO and NACUBO, was a driving force in the creation of CAASLAR, a mentor to many of us and an inspiration to all.

The following April, a plaque was presented to CU-Boulder for the Chris Halpin Distinguished Service award. This plaque resides at Boulder. Each year the name of that year’s recipient is added and a personal plaque is presented to the recipient.

Chris Halpin Award Recipients

2017 N/A

2016 Matt Fryc, Virtuoso Sourcing Group

2015 Lindsey Manning, Colorado Mesa University

2014 Christine Randall, University of Colorado at Boulder

2013 Karen Reddick, National Credit Management

2012 Rebecca Bashor, University of Denver

2011 Jennifer Emmett, University of Denver

2010 Jon Brude, Pueblo Community College

2009 Becky Gonzales and Suzanne Webster, University of Denver

2008 Geri Landwehr, University of Northern Colorado

2007 Beneranda Chacon, Adams State College

2006 Debbie Hatch, University of Northern Colorado

2005 Susie Jacobs, University of Colorado at Boulder

2004 Joe Tacoronte, University of Northern Colorado

2003 Maxine Castillo, Colorado School of Mines

2002 Marcy Konig, University of Northern Colorado

2001 Heidi Scott, University of Colorado – Boulder

2000 Neal Lujan, Colorado State University and Heidi Scott, University of Colorado – Boulder

1999 Virginia Baca-Devens, Colorado State University

1998 Greg Hoppes, University of Colorado – Boulder

1997 Carolyn Winchester, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs

1996 Marlene J. Kelly, Colorado State University

1995 Mari Aguirre, University of Colorado – Denver

1994 Carla William, Colorado State University

1993 David D. Phelps, University of Northern Colorado

To nominate someone you think is deserving of recognition complete and submit the Chris Halpin nomination form.